Skip to main content

We earn commissions from the providers listed here. No provider buys a position, a rating, or a listing. The order is set by hand, and we do not claim it is independent of what we earn. Advertising Disclosure

Manytreatments
Manytreatments
BrowseCategoriesCompareMedicationsBy State
TreatmentsWeight LossED TreatmentHair LossTRT
AboutFAQContact
CategoriesCompareMedicationsBy StateWeight LossED TreatmentHair LossTRTHow We Rate

manytreatments

Compare telehealth providers for weight loss, erectile dysfunction, hair loss, TRT, women's health, mental health, and premature ejaculation treatment. Find pricing, reviews, and licensed US doctors in all 50 states.

Trustpilot
Google Safe Browsing verified site

Treatments

  • Weight Loss
  • ED Treatment
  • TRT
  • Hair Loss
  • Women's Health
  • PE Treatment
  • Mental Health
  • View All Treatments →

Top Brands

  • Hims
  • Medvi
  • Ro
  • Shed
  • Eden
  • Sesame Care
  • Maximus
  • Peter MD
  • View All Brands →

Resources

  • Compare Brands
  • Browse by State
  • Medications
  • Tools
  • Guides
  • Cost Guides
  • Statistics & Price Indexes
  • FAQ
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
  • How We Rate
  • Sitemap

Legal

  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Service
  • Affiliate Disclosure
  • Medical Disclaimer
  • Editorial Policy
  • Cookie Policy
  • California Privacy Notice (CCPA)
  • Accessibility Statement

Follow Us

  • Medium
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter/X
  • Instagram
  • Threads
© 2026 ManyTreatments.com. All rights reserved.Advertising DisclosureWe may earn commissions from affiliate links.

Content is for informational purposes only and is not medical advice. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Medical Disclaimer

  1. Home
  2. Women's Health
  3. Fezolinetant (Hot Flashes)
Telehealth treatment comparison background
Sophie HargroveWritten by Sophie HargroveSenior Editor
Updated onSeptember 11, 2026

Fezolinetant for Menopausal Hot Flashes

Fezolinetant treats hot flashes by blocking a brain receptor instead of replacing a hormone, so estrogen's exclusions do not apply. It also carries a boxed warning for liver injury.

Pharmacy Acquisition Cost Near $18.59 Per 45 mg Tablet
About 2.5 Fewer Daily Flashes Than Placebo at Week 12
Prescription Only, and Not a Hormone
Liver Bloodwork Before Starting Plus Five Follow-Ups
Compare Fezolinetant (Hot Flashes) providers online

Medical Disclaimer: Content is for informational purposes only - not medical advice. Consult a licensed healthcare provider before any treatment. Learn more

Talk to a Women's Health Provider

Fezolinetant (Hot Flashes) is prescription-only, so it starts with a consultation. No provider we list names it on their formulary, but the licensed women's health providers below can assess your situation and prescribe what fits it, including options this guide covers.

Compare Women's Health Providers

About This Comparison

Our Editorial Standards

This women's health provider comparison is independently researched by our editorial team. We compare telehealth services based on publicly available information including pricing, available treatments, and service areas. Our ratings are editorial judgments, not tallies of reviews.

Independent Research: We do not accept payment for rankings or favorable reviews
Affiliate Disclosure: We may earn commissions from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you
Regular Updates: Content is reviewed and updated monthly for accuracy
Licensed Providers Only: All listed services employ US-licensed healthcare providers

Not Medical Advice: This comparison is for informational purposes only. We are not healthcare providers. Always consult with a licensed physician before starting any treatment. Read our full medical disclaimer and editorial policy.

Independent ResearchNo paid placements
Fact-Checked InformationVerified against official sources
Regularly UpdatedLast updated September 11, 2026
Licensed Providers OnlyAll listed services are US-licensed

Fezolinetant for Menopausal Hot Flashes

Sophie HargroveWritten by Sophie HargroveSenior Editor
15 min readUpdated September 11, 2026

Table of Contents

Fezolinetant treats hot flashes by blocking a brain receptor instead of replacing a hormone, so estrogen's exclusions do not apply. It also carries a boxed warning for liver injury.

How an NK3 Receptor Antagonist Stops a Hot Flash

A hot flash starts in your hypothalamus. It does not start in your skin. A small cluster of cells called KNDy neurons, named for the kisspeptin, neurokinin B and dynorphin they carry, sits in the arcuate nucleus and feeds the brain circuits that dump heat. Fezolinetant is a neurokinin 3 receptor antagonist that blocks neurokinin B from binding the KNDy neuron, which modulates activity in the thermoregulatory center. Its affinity for the NK3 receptor is more than 450 times higher than for NK1 or NK2, so it works on that one signal rather than across the whole tachykinin family.
Estrogen normally restrains those neurons, and they enlarge once it withdraws. The KNDy hypothesis was built on exactly that observation, together with evidence that these neurons project to preoptic areas carrying the NK3 receptor and that ablating them reduces skin vasodilatation and blunts estrogen's effect on temperature control. Neurokinin 3 receptor neurons in the median preoptic nucleus modulate heat-defense pathways in female mice, and this drug is the pharmacological mirror of that experiment. The plain-language section of the label states it outright: this medicine is not a hormone.
  • Blocks neurokinin B at the NK3 receptor on hypothalamic KNDy neurons
  • Not a hormone, and it moved no sex hormone levels in the trials
  • Over 450-fold more selective for NK3 than for NK1 or NK2 receptors
  • First drug of its class cleared in the United States, in May 2023

How Many Hot Flashes Fezolinetant Actually Removes

These trials counted flashes rather than scoring them. In Trial 1, 174 women on the 45 mg dose started at a mean of 10.4 moderate to severe flashes per 24 hours and dropped 6.4 by week 12, against 3.9 on placebo, a difference of 2.6 flashes with a 95% confidence interval of -3.4 to -1.7. In Trial 2, 167 women started at 11.8 and dropped 7.5, against 5.0 on placebo, a difference of 2.5 with an interval of -3.6 to -1.5. The label treats a reduction of at least 2 flashes over 24 hours as the clinically meaningful threshold.
Severity shifted far less than frequency did. Both arms began at 2.4 on the severity measure; by week 12 the drug arm fell 0.6 against 0.4 on placebo in Trial 1, and 0.8 against 0.5 in Trial 2. Look at how much the placebo arms moved on their own: more than half of the total improvement in Trial 2 appeared without any active drug. SKYLIGHT 1 ran at 97 sites across seven countries in women aged 40 to 65, and SKYLIGHT 2 saw frequency and severity improve by week 1 and hold through week 52.
The realistic promise is a partial reduction. These trials measured how far the daily count falls, never whether flashes stop altogether.
  • Entry required an average of seven or more moderate to severe flashes daily
  • Baseline counts averaged 10.4 and 11.8 flashes per 24 hours
  • Week 12 gain over placebo was 2.6 and 2.5 flashes per 24 hours
  • Placebo arms improved substantially on their own in both trials

Who the Label Covers, and Who It Never Studied

The indication is narrow: moderate to severe vasomotor symptoms due to menopause, and nothing on the label reaches sleep, mood, bone density or genitourinary symptoms. The registration population averaged 54 years old, self-identified as 81% Caucasian and 17% African American, and included prior hysterectomy in 32.1% and prior oophorectomy in 21.6%. Anyone on hormone therapy went through a washout first, so the combination was never tested. The label also records that too few women over 65 enrolled to say whether they respond differently.
The candidate this fits is someone with frequent moderate to severe flashes who cannot take estrogen or has decided against it. The 2023 nonhormone therapy position statement of The North American Menopause Society places fezolinetant among its Level I recommendations, alongside cognitive behavioral therapy, clinical hypnosis, SSRIs and SNRIs, and gabapentin. That same statement concludes hormone therapy remains the most effective treatment for vasomotor symptoms and should be considered within 10 years of the final menstrual period. Being a recommended option is not the same as being the first thing a clinician reaches for, and a licensed clinician decides which applies to you.
  • Indication stops at moderate to severe vasomotor symptoms due to menopause
  • Trial population averaged 54, with 32.1% having had a hysterectomy
  • Anyone already on hormone therapy was washed out before enrolling
  • Too few women over 65 took part to describe how the drug behaves there

Fezolinetant vs Estrogen and Low-Dose Paroxetine

A Cochrane review of 24 placebo-controlled trials covering 3,329 women found oral hormone therapy cut weekly hot flush frequency by a weighted mean of 17.92, equivalent to a 75% reduction with a 95% confidence interval of 64.3 to 82.3. Those trials ran from three months to three years and reported weekly counts; fezolinetant's reported daily counts over 12 weeks. Stacking the two percentages against each other would be arithmetic theatre. What genuinely separates them is who can take which. Estrogen carries its own boxed warning and its own exclusions, and fezolinetant carries none of the estrogen-related ones because it is not a hormone.
Paroxetine 7.5 mg is the only SSRI with an FDA indication for moderate to severe vasomotor symptoms, and its label states it is not indicated for any psychiatric condition. In its 606-woman 12-week trial, median flash frequency fell 5.9 from a baseline median of 10.4, against 5.0 on placebo. That is a median from one trial set beside least-squares means from another, which is context rather than a scoreboard. Where the two diverge in daily life is the paperwork: one asks for repeat liver panels, the other does not, and neither one wins that trade for everyone.
  • Cochrane put oral hormone therapy at a 75% cut in weekly flush frequency
  • Paroxetine 7.5 mg is the only SSRI carrying a vasomotor indication
  • None of the three has ever been compared head to head in a trial
  • Eligibility and monitoring are the real fork, well ahead of effect size

This Is No Longer a One-Drug Class

Fezolinetant was first, and for about two and a half years it stood alone. Elinzanetant, a neurokinin 1 and neurokinin 3 receptor antagonist for the same indication, was approved as a new molecular entity on 24 October 2025. It is taken as 120 mg, two 60 mg capsules, once daily at bedtime. Any article still describing the neurokinin approach as a single drug is working from stale information, and so is any comparison that treats hormone therapy as the only alternative on the shelf.
The monitoring gap between the two is the part worth understanding before you choose. The newer label reports transaminase elevations at or above three times the upper limit of normal in 0.6% on drug against 0.4% on placebo across 12 weeks, asks for baseline bloodwork, and then a single follow-up liver test three months after starting. Fezolinetant asks for five follow-up draws inside nine months and carries a boxed warning on top. The newer drug is also contraindicated in pregnancy, which the fezolinetant label does not state.
Same receptor family, materially different obligations.
  • Elinzanetant blocks NK1 and NK3 rather than NK3 alone
  • Approved 24 October 2025, roughly two and a half years after fezolinetant
  • Carries no boxed warning and asks for one follow-up liver test at 3 months
  • Contraindicated in pregnancy, which fezolinetant's label does not state

Fezolinetant Dosage and Why There Is No Titration

The regimen is a single 45 mg tablet once daily, with or without food, at about the same time each day. Swallow it whole with liquid; the label instructs that tablets are not to be cut, crushed or chewed. Miss one and you take it as soon as you can, unless fewer than 12 hours remain before the next scheduled dose, then resume the normal schedule the next day. Only one strength exists, supplied in bottles of 30 or 90 tablets.
There is no starting dose, no titration ladder and no written dose reduction.
Peak concentration lands at a median 1.5 hours, steady state arrives after two once-daily doses, and the effective half-life is 9.6 hours in women with vasomotor symptoms. A high-calorie, high-fat meal did not meaningfully change absorption, so timing around meals is not something you need to manage. Both registration trials read a co-primary endpoint at week 4, and SKYLIGHT 2 recorded improvement in frequency and severity as early as week 1. If your own count has not moved by week 4, that is early and useful information to bring back to whoever prescribed it.
  • One 45 mg tablet once daily, with or without food
  • Swallow whole; the label forbids cutting, crushing or chewing
  • Steady state after two doses, effective half-life 9.6 hours
  • Skip a missed dose if the next one is under 12 hours away

The Fezolinetant Boxed Warning Arrived Nineteen Months After Approval

FDA approved fezolinetant on 12 May 2023 as the first NK3 receptor antagonist cleared to treat moderate to severe hot flashes from menopause, with no boxed warning. On 12 September 2024 the agency issued a communication about rare serious liver injury, and on 16 December 2024 it added a Boxed Warning, which it describes as its most prominent warning. That communication describes a postmarketing report in which liver test values rose and signs of liver injury appeared after roughly 40 days on the medicine. Drugs@FDA records the matching labeling supplement approved 16 December 2024.
The trials had not surfaced this. A pooled analysis of the three phase 3 studies, with 1,100 women on 45 mg against 952 on placebo, reported transaminase elevations in 1.5% to 2.3%, usually without symptoms, resolving on treatment or after stopping, and no case meeting Hy's law criteria. The label's postmarketing section records peak elevations reaching 50 times the upper limit of normal, with bilirubin up to 5 times normal, all resolving gradually after the drug was stopped. LiverTox summarizes it as a low rate of aminotransferase elevations plus rare instances of clinically apparent liver injury with jaundice. A separate 52-week randomized study covered long-term safety.
  • Approved May 2023 with no boxed warning attached
  • FDA communicated a liver injury risk on 12 September 2024
  • Boxed warning added 16 December 2024, nineteen months after approval
  • Reported injury appeared within about 40 days of starting

Three Hard Stops: One Enzyme, One Liver, One Kidney Number

Fezolinetant is a CYP1A2 substrate, and concurrent use with any CYP1A2 inhibitor, weak, moderate or strong, is contraindicated outright. The measured magnitudes explain why the label draws the line so hard rather than asking for a dose cut. Fluvoxamine raised area under the curve by 840% and peak concentration by 80%, mexiletine raised area under the curve by 360%, and even cimetidine, classed as a weak inhibitor, doubled it. That makes a complete medication list, including anything you take without a prescription, load-bearing here rather than a formality.
Known cirrhosis is a contraindication, and the drug has not been studied in Child-Pugh Class C impairment at all. Milder liver impairment still raises exposure: area under the curve rose 56% in Child-Pugh Class A and 96% in Class B. Severe renal impairment, meaning an eGFR of 15 to under 30, and end-stage renal disease below 15, are contraindications, while mild and moderate impairment need no dose change. The kidney reasoning is indirect and worth knowing: fezolinetant exposure itself did not change across renal impairment, but the major metabolite's exposure rose about 380% in severe impairment.
  • Any CYP1A2 inhibitor is contraindicated, weak ones included
  • Fluvoxamine raised drug exposure by 840% in the interaction study
  • Known cirrhosis rules it out; Child-Pugh Class C was never studied
  • eGFR under 30 rules it out, though the reason is the metabolite

Fezolinetant Cost Before Anyone Marks It Up

There is one public, verifiable dollar figure here and it is not a retail price. The Medicaid National Average Drug Acquisition Cost file published on 2 September 2026 lists the 45 mg tablet at $18.58505 per tablet, with a brand classification for rate setting. That is what surveyed pharmacies pay to acquire it, roughly $558 for a 30-tablet bottle, before any pharmacy markup, dispensing fee, insurance adjudication or manufacturer copay program. We publish no single monthly price for what you would be charged, because nothing we can verify supports one. Nothing generic sits behind that number yet. Drugs@FDA shows the original 2023 New Drug Application as the reference listed drug with no abbreviated applications listed against it, which is the structural reason the acquisition cost has barely moved.
Budget the bloodwork separately as well: a baseline liver panel plus five follow-up panels inside the first nine months is six separate lab events, and whether they land against a deductible depends entirely on your coverage. Ask about the lab charges before the first tablet.
  • Pharmacy acquisition cost of $18.58505 per 45 mg tablet
  • From the federal file published on 2 September 2026, classified as a brand product
  • Around $558 for a 30-tablet bottle at that acquisition cost
  • No abbreviated application is listed behind the original approval

Fezolinetant Liver Monitoring and Who Can Run It

This is the criterion that should decide where you get the prescription, remote or otherwise. The current label requires baseline ALT, AST, alkaline phosphatase and total and direct bilirubin before the first dose, then follow-up hepatic testing monthly for the first 3 months, at 6 months and at 9 months. FDA's own May 2023 approval announcement described routine bloodwork every three months for the first nine months, a schedule the December 2024 boxed warning replaced. If a service quotes you that older cadence, it is reading superseded labeling, and you now know more than the intake form does.
So judge on capability rather than on shipping speed. Can the service order a baseline panel and read the result before anything is dispensed? Will it decline to start you if ALT or AST is at or above twice the upper limit of normal, or total bilirubin is at or above twice normal? Does it schedule and act on all five follow-up draws? Whether the medication suits you is a decision for the prescriber, and this page is information rather than medical advice. And ask what makes them stop: the label sets explicit stopping rules, discontinue if transaminases exceed 5 times normal, or exceed 3 times normal with bilirubin above twice normal.
  • Baseline liver panel read before the first tablet is dispensed
  • Follow-up tests monthly for 3 months, then at 6 and at 9 months
  • The 2023 every-three-months schedule has been superseded
  • Do not start if ALT or AST is at or above twice the upper limit of normal

Frequently Asked Questions

Is fezolinetant a hormone?

No. The plain-language section of the label states directly that this medicine is not a hormone, and treatment showed no clear trend in the sex hormones measured, including FSH, testosterone, estrogen and DHEA sulfate, though a transient dip in luteinizing hormone appeared at peak concentrations. It works one step upstream of that, at the brain receptor for neurokinin B. That is why FDA described it at approval as binding and blocking the NK3 receptor, which plays a role in the brain's regulation of body temperature. Practically, it means the estrogen-specific exclusions do not apply, and it also means it does nothing for the vaginal or bone effects estrogen addresses.

How quickly does fezolinetant work on hot flashes?

Faster than most menopause options, though the full read takes about a month. SKYLIGHT 2 recorded improvement in both frequency and severity by week 1, sustained through week 52, and both registration trials measured a co-primary endpoint at week 4 as well as week 12. Pharmacokinetically that fits: steady state arrives after two once-daily doses. The week 12 gain over placebo was 2.6 flashes per 24 hours in Trial 1 and 2.5 in Trial 2, so a fair expectation is fewer and milder flashes rather than none. Week 4 is a reasonable point to reassess with your prescriber.

Is there a generic version of fezolinetant?

Not in the United States. Drugs@FDA lists the original 2023 New Drug Application as the reference listed drug, with no abbreviated applications shown against it, and the Medicaid acquisition-cost file classifies the marketed 45 mg tablet as a brand product. That is why the acquisition cost sat at $18.58505 per tablet in the file published on 2 September 2026, roughly $558 for a bottle of 30 before any markup. That figure is what pharmacies pay to buy it. What you would be charged at a counter or through a telehealth service is a different number.

Can you take fezolinetant alongside estrogen therapy?

There is no trial evidence either way, and that is the honest answer. Anyone on prior hormone therapy went through a washout period before joining the registration trials, so the combination was never studied. The label neither endorses nor prohibits it, which leaves the decision entirely with a prescribing clinician. The 2023 nonhormone therapy position statement frames fezolinetant as an option for women who are not good candidates for hormone therapy because of contraindications or personal preference, which is the situation the evidence actually covers. Raise the question directly rather than assuming either answer.

Sources & References

Our comparisons are informed by official sources and regulatory guidelines. We encourage readers to verify information with authoritative sources.

  • Fezolinetant is a neurokinin 3 receptor antagonist that blocks neurokinin B from binding the KNDy neuron, which modulates activity in the thermoregulatory center
  • The KNDy hypothesis was built on exactly that observation, together with evidence that these neurons project to preoptic areas carrying the NK3 receptor and that ablating them reduces skin vasodilatation and blunts estrogen's effect on temperature control
  • Neurokinin 3 receptor neurons in the median preoptic nucleus modulate heat-defense pathways in female mice
  • SKYLIGHT 1 ran at 97 sites across seven countries in women aged 40 to 65
  • SKYLIGHT 2 saw frequency and severity improve by week 1 and hold through week 52
  • The 2023 nonhormone therapy position statement of The North American Menopause Society places fezolinetant among its Level I recommendations, alongside cognitive behavioral therapy, clinical hypnosis, SSRIs and SNRIs, and gabapentin
  • A Cochrane review of 24 placebo-controlled trials covering 3,329 women found oral hormone therapy cut weekly hot flush frequency by a weighted mean of 17.92, equivalent to a 75% reduction with a 95% confidence interval of 64.3 to 82.3
  • Paroxetine 7.5 mg is the only SSRI with an FDA indication for moderate to severe vasomotor symptoms, and its label states it is not indicated for any psychiatric condition
  • Elinzanetant, a neurokinin 1 and neurokinin 3 receptor antagonist for the same indication, was approved as a new molecular entity on 24 October 2025
  • It is taken as 120 mg, two 60 mg capsules, once daily at bedtime
  • FDA approved fezolinetant on 12 May 2023 as the first NK3 receptor antagonist cleared to treat moderate to severe hot flashes from menopause
  • On 12 September 2024 the agency issued a communication about rare serious liver injury, and on 16 December 2024 it added a Boxed Warning, which it describes as its most prominent warning
  • Drugs@FDA records the matching labeling supplement approved 16 December 2024
  • A pooled analysis of the three phase 3 studies, with 1,100 women on 45 mg against 952 on placebo, reported transaminase elevations in 1.5% to 2.3%, usually without symptoms, resolving on treatment or after stopping, and no case meeting Hy's law criteria
  • LiverTox summarizes it as a low rate of aminotransferase elevations plus rare instances of clinically apparent liver injury with jaundice
  • A separate 52-week randomized study covered long-term safety
  • The Medicaid National Average Drug Acquisition Cost file published on 2 September 2026 lists the 45 mg tablet at $18.58505 per tablet, with a brand classification for rate setting

Editorial Note: Researched and edited by our editorial team. AI tools assist with initial research and drafting; all content is fact-checked and edited by humans before publication. Learn more about our editorial standards

More Women's Health Options

Explore other women's health treatments and providers:

All Women's Health ProvidersFind Providers by StateBrowse All Treatments →
Sophie Hargrove
Sophie HargroveSenior Editor

Sophie Hargrove is a health and lifestyle writer who has been putting words together professionally for the better part of a decade. She specializes in women's health, wellness products, and the kind of honest reviews that actually help people make decisions. Sophie has a weakness for overly complicated coffee orders and an unexplainable loyalty to her local farmers market. When she is not writing, she is either on a pilates mat or convincing herself that adopting a second cat is a great idea.

Medical Disclaimer: The information provided on this page is for informational purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for advice from your physician or other healthcare professional. Always verify with your chosen provider. Read our full medical disclaimer.