We earn commissions from the providers listed here. No provider buys a position, a rating, or a listing. The order is set by hand, and we do not claim it is independent of what we earn. Advertising Disclosure

Online Therapy Costs: Complete Price Guide Across Platforms

Compare costs for online mental health treatment including therapy, psychiatry, and medication. See pricing from BetterHelp, Talkspace, Hims, Hers, and more.

Mental health treatment costs vary widely depending on whether you need therapy only, medication management, or both. As of September 11, 2026, BetterHelp charges $70 to $100 per week, and Talkspace out-of-pocket pricing starts at $69 per week, with Talkspace saying most insured members have a $0 copay. For medication, Hims and Hers psychiatry plans start at $49 per month, and a Talkspace psychiatry initial evaluation costs $299. In-person care is billed per session or visit, and what you pay depends on your insurance. This guide compares costs across the online mental health providers below, explains insurance coverage, and gives strategies to access affordable treatment.

Average Costs Comparison

Online mental health treatment costs depend on whether you need therapy, medication management, or both. Here is how the providers compare, with prices checked on September 11, 2026:

ProviderMonthly CostPer DoseConsultationShippingNotes
BetterHelp (Therapy Only)$70 to $100 per week, based on your location and preferencesIncluded (messaging, live chat, phone, or video)N/A (therapy service)Calls itself the largest therapy platform in the world. Does not accept insurance yet; accepts HSA and FSA cards. Therapists cannot prescribe medication.
Talkspace (Therapy Only)$69/week (messaging), $99/week (video + messaging), $109/week (with workshops)Included (video plans: up to four 30-minute sessions per month)N/AIn-network with most major plans, per Talkspace; superbills if not in network. Psychiatry: $299 initial evaluation, $175 per follow-up.
Cerebral (not listed on this site)Medication plan $180 every 3 months; therapy $175 per session or $795 for 3 monthsMedication plan includes a 40-minute initial evaluationNot stated; medication billed separatelyCerebral is not one of the platforms we list, so check cerebral.com directly. It says it takes insurance.
Hims/Hers Mental HealthMedication plans from $49/month, if prescribedFree consultationFreePsychiatry for anxiety and depression with unlimited messaging with your provider. Hims does not accept insurance; Hers says no insurance is required.
Traditional In-Person TherapyN/A (per-session billing)Set by the therapist; depends on your insuranceN/AMental health services are an essential health benefit in non-grandfathered individual and small group plans.
Traditional In-Person PsychiatryN/A (per-visit billing)Set by the practice; depends on your insuranceN/AMedicare Part B covers psychiatric evaluation and medication management; you pay 20% after the Part B deductible.

Top Mental Health Providers by Value

Our Top Choice
1

Same-Day Mental Health Rx - Video Visits + Unlimited Messaging

  • Medication support for anxiety, depression and performance anxiety
  • Prescriptions and refills sent to your pharmacy for same-day pickup
  • Personalized medication subscription - you choose your provider
  • Video visits and unlimited messaging for ongoing treatment adjustments
9.1
ExcellentScore based on review by ManyTreatments editors, popularity, brand reputation, features and benefitsLearn how we score
★★★★★
Most Popular
2

Psychiatry Meds From $49/mo - Free Consultation

  • Anxiety and depression medication from licensed providers, 100% online
  • Prescription-strength psychiatry medications from $49/mo
  • Unlimited messaging with your providers
  • No insurance, phone calls or waiting rooms - free consultation to start
9.4
OutstandingScore based on review by ManyTreatments editors, popularity, brand reputation, features and benefitsLearn how we score
★★★★★
Best Value
3

Psychiatry Plans From $49/mo - Free Assessment

  • Anxiety and depression treatment plans designed around your needs
  • Prescription-strength SSRI medication plans from $49/mo, if prescribed
  • No insurance, co-pays or doctor waiting rooms - support through the Hers app
  • Free assessment to start your virtual mental health care
9.1
ExcellentScore based on review by ManyTreatments editors, popularity, brand reputation, features and benefitsLearn how we score
★★★★★

Detailed Cost Breakdown by Service Type

Therapy-Only Platforms (BetterHelp, Talkspace)

Therapy-only platforms let you message your therapist and add live sessions. BetterHelp offers messaging, live chat, phone, and video; Talkspace video plans include up to four 30-minute sessions per month. A good fit if you need talk therapy without medication, since BetterHelp therapists cannot prescribe.

Consultation:Included in the weekly price
Medication:N/A (therapy only, no prescriptions)
Shipping:N/A
Total:BetterHelp $70 to $100/week; Talkspace $69 to $109/week

Medication Management Platforms (Hims/Hers, Talkspace Psychiatry)

Medication-focused platforms connect you with licensed providers who can prescribe and manage medication for anxiety or depression if appropriate. Hims and Hers bundle care and medication into a monthly plan; Talkspace psychiatry charges per visit with no subscription.

Consultation:Hims/Hers: free consultation. Talkspace: $299 initial evaluation, $175 per follow-up
Medication:Hims/Hers: medication included in plans from $49/month, if prescribed
Shipping:Hims/Hers: free shipping
Total:From $49/month (Hims/Hers)

Therapy + Medication (Cerebral, not listed on this site)

Cerebral is not one of the platforms we list, so check cerebral.com directly. As of September 11, 2026, it sells a medication plan and a therapy plan separately, and says it takes insurance.

Consultation:Medication plan includes a 40-minute initial evaluation
Medication:Cost of medication is billed separately
Shipping:Not stated
Total:Medication plan $180 every 3 months. Therapy $175 per session or $795 for 3 months

Traditional In-Person Care

Traditional in-person therapy and psychiatry offer face-to-face treatment. What you pay depends on the practice and your insurance, so ask for the session fee and your copay before you book.

Consultation:Set by the therapist or psychiatrist
Medication:Separate pharmacy costs
Shipping:N/A
Total:Depends on your plan and how often you go

Insurance Coverage for Mental Health Treatment

The Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act generally prevents group health plans and insurers that offer mental health benefits from imposing less favorable limits on them than on medical benefits, but it does not require a plan to cover mental health. Separately, the ACA makes mental health services an essential health benefit in non-grandfathered individual and small group plans. Among online platforms, Talkspace says it is in-network with most major plans, while BetterHelp and Hims do not accept insurance and Hers says no insurance is required.

Commercial Insurance

Coverage: Depends on your plan

Check your plan for therapy and psychiatry copays. Talkspace bills insurance plans directly and says most insured members have a $0 copay. BetterHelp and Hims do not accept insurance, and Hers says no insurance is required. Cerebral, which is not listed on this site, says it takes insurance.

Medicare

Coverage: Part B covers outpatient mental health; you pay 20% after the deductible

Medicare Part B covers individual and group psychotherapy, psychiatric evaluation, and medication management. After you meet the Part B deductible, you pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount. Talkspace says you may have access to its therapy if you have Medicare or Medicare Advantage.

Medicaid

Coverage: Varies by state

Medicaid mental health coverage and copays vary by state. Check with your state Medicaid program about which therapists, clinics, and online services it covers before you sign up.

Out-of-Network Reimbursement

Coverage: Varies by plan

If Talkspace is not in network with your plan, it provides superbills you can submit for out-of-network reimbursement. Cerebral, which is not listed on this site, says it provides a superbill on request. Ask your plan what it reimburses before you count on it.

Cost Comparison: Therapy vs Medication vs Combination

Mental health treatment costs vary based on whether you need therapy only, medication only, or both. Here is how the prices compare, as of September 11, 2026:

MedicationCompounded/GenericBrand-NameSavings
Therapy Only (Online)BetterHelp: $70 to $100/week. Talkspace: $69 to $109/weekIn-person therapy: set by the therapist, billed per sessionCompare with your in-network copay before you choose
Medication Management OnlyHims/Hers: from $49/month. Talkspace psychiatry: $299 initial evaluation, $175 per follow-upIn-person psychiatry: set by the practice, plus pharmacy costsDepends on your insurance and how often you need follow-ups
Therapy + Medication ComboCerebral (not listed on this site): medication plan $180 every 3 months plus medication; therapy $175 per sessionIn-person therapy + psychiatry: billed per session and visitCompare both options against your insurance coverage

How to Save Money on Mental Health Treatment

  • Compare online platforms (BetterHelp, Talkspace) with your in-network copay for in-person care before you choose.
  • If you primarily need medication (not therapy), look at medication-focused plans like Hims or Hers (from $49/month) instead of combination services.
  • If Talkspace is out of network for you, ask for superbills and submit them to your insurance for possible out-of-network reimbursement.
  • Check if your employer offers an Employee Assistance Program (EAP) with free therapy sessions.
  • Ask about community mental health centers if you have Medicaid or a low income, since some offer sliding scale fees.
  • Ask about generic antidepressants (sertraline, fluoxetine, escitalopram). The FDA says generics work the same way as their brand-name counterparts and tend to cost less.
  • Use HSA or FSA funds. The IRS counts psychiatric care and therapy received as medical treatment as medical expenses, and BetterHelp accepts HSA and FSA cards.
  • Look for therapist training clinics (university counseling programs) offering lower-cost therapy with supervised therapist trainees.

Hidden Fees to Watch For

  • Live session fees: Talkspace video plans include up to four 30-minute sessions per month, and you can add live video sessions for $69 each.
  • Therapist match fees: Talkspace lets you pick a new therapist at no additional cost if your first one is not a fit. Ask any other platform before you sign up.
  • Insurance claim paperwork: ask whether a platform charges anything to generate superbills for insurance reimbursement.
  • Medication costs not included: BetterHelp therapists cannot prescribe, and Cerebral (not listed on this site) bills medication separately from its plan fee.
  • Cancellation terms: BetterHelp says you can cancel your membership at any time, and Talkspace says you can pause or cancel anytime. Read the policy of any platform before committing.
  • Psychiatry follow-ups: Talkspace charges $175 per follow-up after its $299 initial evaluation, so budget for ongoing visits.
  • Non-generic medication costs: if you are prescribed a brand-name medication, ask what it adds to your monthly cost.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does online therapy cost per month?

As of September 11, 2026, BetterHelp costs $70 to $100 per week, based on your location and preferences, and Talkspace out-of-pocket pricing runs $69 to $109 per week depending on the plan. Talkspace video plans include up to four 30-minute sessions per month. Traditional in-person therapy is billed per session, so your cost depends on the therapist and your insurance.

Does insurance cover online therapy?

It depends on the platform. Talkspace says it is in-network with most major plans and bills insurance directly, and that most insured members have a $0 copay. BetterHelp does not accept insurance yet but accepts HSA and FSA cards. Hims does not accept insurance, and Hers says no insurance is required. If Talkspace is out of network for you, it provides superbills you can submit for possible reimbursement.

How much does online psychiatry cost?

Hims and Hers psychiatry plans start at $49 per month, with medication included if prescribed, as of September 11, 2026. Talkspace psychiatry charges $299 for an initial evaluation and $175 per follow-up, with no subscription. Cerebral, which is not listed on this site, charges $180 every 3 months for its medication plan, with medication billed separately. In-person psychiatry is billed per visit.

Is online therapy cheaper than in-person?

It can be, depending on your insurance. BetterHelp costs $70 to $100 per week and Talkspace $69 to $109 per week out of pocket. In-person therapy is billed per session, and if your plan covers it with a low copay, it may cost you less. Talkspace says most insured members have a $0 copay.

What is the cheapest online therapy option?

Among the platforms on this page, Talkspace messaging starts at $69 per week and BetterHelp costs $70 to $100 per week out of pocket, as of September 11, 2026. With insurance, Talkspace says most insured members have a $0 copay. For medication-only treatment, Hims and Hers psychiatry plans start at $49 per month.

Does Medicaid cover online therapy?

Medicaid coverage for online therapy varies by state. BetterHelp does not accept insurance, Hims does not accept health insurance, and Hers says no insurance is required. Check with your state Medicaid program about which therapists, clinics, and online services it covers.

Can I use my HSA or FSA for online therapy?

Usually, yes. The IRS lets you include amounts you pay for psychiatric care, a psychologist for medical care, and therapy received as medical treatment in medical expenses. BetterHelp accepts HSA and FSA cards, and Cerebral (not listed on this site) says its plans and medication costs are FSA and HSA eligible. Check with your plan administrator and keep your receipts.

How much does it cost to treat anxiety or depression?

It depends on the approach. Medication-only plans from Hims and Hers start at $49 per month, if prescribed. Online therapy costs $70 to $100 per week at BetterHelp and $69 to $109 per week at Talkspace, out of pocket. Combining therapy and medication costs more, and insurance can lower what you pay. Ask your provider which approach fits you.

Sources & References

Our comparisons are informed by official sources and regulatory guidelines. We encourage readers to verify information with authoritative sources.

Editorial Note: Researched and edited by our editorial team. AI tools assist with initial research and drafting; all content is fact-checked and edited by humans before publication. Learn more about our editorial standards

Start With a Top Mental Health Provider

Our Top Choice
1

Same-Day Mental Health Rx - Video Visits + Unlimited Messaging

  • Medication support for anxiety, depression and performance anxiety
  • Prescriptions and refills sent to your pharmacy for same-day pickup
  • Personalized medication subscription - you choose your provider
  • Video visits and unlimited messaging for ongoing treatment adjustments
9.1
ExcellentScore based on review by ManyTreatments editors, popularity, brand reputation, features and benefitsLearn how we score
★★★★★
Most Popular
2

Psychiatry Meds From $49/mo - Free Consultation

  • Anxiety and depression medication from licensed providers, 100% online
  • Prescription-strength psychiatry medications from $49/mo
  • Unlimited messaging with your providers
  • No insurance, phone calls or waiting rooms - free consultation to start
9.4
OutstandingScore based on review by ManyTreatments editors, popularity, brand reputation, features and benefitsLearn how we score
★★★★★
Best Value
3

Psychiatry Plans From $49/mo - Free Assessment

  • Anxiety and depression treatment plans designed around your needs
  • Prescription-strength SSRI medication plans from $49/mo, if prescribed
  • No insurance, co-pays or doctor waiting rooms - support through the Hers app
  • Free assessment to start your virtual mental health care
9.1
ExcellentScore based on review by ManyTreatments editors, popularity, brand reputation, features and benefitsLearn how we score
★★★★★

Ready to Compare Providers?

Use our cost calculator to get personalized pricing estimates based on your insurance and location.

Disclaimer: Pricing information is based on publicly available data and may change without notice. Actual costs depend on your specific treatment plan, insurance coverage, and provider. Always verify current pricing with providers before purchasing. This article is for informational purposes only and is not financial or medical advice. We may receive compensation through affiliate links, which helps support our research.

Regulatory noticeRegulatory note (verified August 22, 2026): On September 9, 2025 the FDA sent Hims & Hers Health, Inc. a warning letter covering the Hims brand, MARCS-CMS 716567, drawn from a review of hims.com the previous month. Two lines about compounded semaglutide are quoted in it: "Same active ingredient as Ozempic and Wegovy" and "Clinically proven ingredients." Compounded drug products are not FDA-approved, and the agency said phrasing of this sort suggests otherwise, which is what makes the products misbranded under FD&C Act sections 502(a) and 502(bb). A companion letter went to the same company that day for its Hers brand. No close-out letter appears in FDA’s index; treat this as open. Read the FDA letter

Regulatory noticeRegulatory note (verified August 22, 2026): Hers is a brand of Hims & Hers Health, Inc., and the FDA wrote to that company twice on September 9, 2025, once for each brand. The Hers letter, MARCS-CMS 716825, went to chief executive Andrew Dudum after an August 2025 review of forhers.com. It quotes two claims made for compounded semaglutide: "Weekly injectable GLP-1 with the same active ingredient as Ozempic and Wegovy" and "Clinically proven ingredients." The agency’s position is that compounded products carry no FDA approval, so claims like these imply a sameness with approved medicines that has not been established, making the products misbranded. FDA’s index lists neither a response nor a close-out letter, so the matter stands open. Read the FDA letter